Give us our language back!

RawLangs

European_Commission_flags

I find it difficult to describe the true level of horror and dismay that I felt when I came across a news article about a recent proposal to make English the sole official language of the European Union. I find it even more difficult to come to terms with the fact that this has not come from the British – the famed monolinguals – but from the German president. This is also not the first serious suggestion of this nature that has come from a German politician, and as a result I feel that I must explain exactly why it riles me so much, and why no matter what the cost, we must strive to sustain multilingualism for the good of us all.

I am a native English speaker. I have spoken English all my life, been educated in English, I read widely in English and have been struggling with the…

View original post 1,079 more words

About optimistthepessimist

Always in transit.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

