New Year, Not-So-New Everything Else

Lebanon has a bad enough rep for its steadily worsening security security situation and rampant corruption, and these are just the twin peaks of the iceberg. Today’s (or rather, yesterday’s) attack on the southern Beirut suburb of Dahyeh could not have come at a worse time: first the post-Christmas bombing in Downtown that claimed at least 6 (I don’t remember the exact number) and now this two days after New Year’s. I remember watching a news report on the celebrations and recall seeing this one guy-probably drunk out of his mind-saying that he hated 2013 because of the wave of bombings that plagued it, and he expressed his hopes that this year would be better. I can only imagine his initial disappointment and shock at the news, but like everyone else here, myself included, he’s just going to shake his head, sigh, and try to find a way to avoid the obscene amount of traffic he’ll find on his way home from work. Such is the norm of this country, and it’s only getting worse. In fact, a friend of mine drew parallels to what he called Iraq’s “tit-for-tat” bombing system. I’m not going to go into details ‘cuz I don’t even know everything there is to know on this matter, but given Lebanon’s sectarian background, it doesn’t surprise me in the least that someone would make this comparison (despite the myriad of differences between each country’s circumstances, then and now).

That’s not even the sad part. What’s worse is that because this has been happening so often, we’ve been robbed of basic empathy to our fellow man, and even of outrage towards this ongoing crime against a nation and its people’s well-being. I sometimes wonder how things would be if history had taken a different course, and through open discussion I’ve provoked the ire or admiration of those who agree and disagree with me on the matter, respectively. But that’s a story for another day, and I’m not going to politicize this blog. I can’t even complement this situation anymore by calling it “obscene” or “disgusting”; it’s just sad. It’s just a sad state of affairs that makes you question your own sanity for continuing to partake in it, even if just by presence or association, let alone keeping some hope alive for a better future.

Like every person with even the faintest traces of sanity left I’m fed up with it all. I’m fed up with the hate, the bickering, the senseless violence and death, and the overall stagnation that’s been plaguing this place for so long. But I’ll tell you this: if having some hope for this place means being crazy, then put me in a straight jacket and be done with it. Of course, I’m no hippy who’s stoned out of his mind while listening to the Beatles, naively thinking the world to be a happy place and that love is all that’s missing (on that note: F**K the Beatles, and I only wish I could capitalize asterisks). Never been, never will be. I don’t have much hope for Lebanon, but at least something’s still there. Therefore, what I offer before concluding this (frequently recycled) rant is this: don’t lose all hope. Sure, things are  f**king horrible and aren’t getting better any time soon. But giving up completely is a fool’s game, and already too many people have. If you wanna whine and gripe without letting up, go right ahead and get the f**k out. I’ll be joining in the getting out part, but it’s not like moving here in the first place it’s not like I have a complete choice in the matter.

Y’all take care now.

RIP to the victims of the recent attacks.

About optimistthepessimist

Always in transit.
This entry was posted in Thoughts and Musings and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

